Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for advice

Looking for advice

I am going into court on Tuesday morning for a speeding ticket.

Facts:

• Was going 49 in a 35 on huge downhill grade
    • Hill is less than 1/8 mile
    • Cop was sitting at the bottom (50 feet from where speed goes to 45)
    • A-typical entrapment
    • I have the option of postponing my court date
    • Cop has not been there since
    • I have a perfect driving record of the past 5 years
    • Cop was a effen A-hole and there was no talking my way out
    • He asked me what I did for a living, as if that would have an impact on the ticket

Questions:

• Should I postpone it?
    • How should I organize my argument?
    • Anybody have any other suggestions?

Thanks

"Tutto nello Stato, niente al di fuori dello Stato, nulla contro lo Stato "
    -Mussolini
    All within the state, nothing outside the state, nothing against the state.

Get a lawyer.

How much do ya'll reckon a lawyer would cost for a situation like this.

I know the ticket isn't but $110, but I really don't want to deal with that on my license, or the aftermath of my insurance being screwed.

-Mussolini

On your court date, meet with the DA or Magistrate (they usually set up a table outside the courtroom) and see if you can get the ticket dismissed or reduced. Explain all of the above (leaving out the part about the cop being a jerk -- not relevant to the case).

The idea is to get the speed reduced to where the insurance company is not involved, or minimally involved. $112 for the ticket (plus court costs, which will probably take it up to the $300 range) versus paying the insurance company $500 extra each year for the next three years?? Easy answer.

Points on the license don't matter unless you regularly get tickets, which it sounds like you don't.